Irina Mikitenko

IRINA MIKITENKO

Irina Mikitenko - (c) photorun.net
© photorun.net
Maiden name: Irina Volynski
Date of birth: 23. August 1972
Place of birth: Bakanas (Kazakhstan)
Nationality: German
Height: 1,58 m
Weight: 49 kg
Married with: Alexander Mikitenko

(since August 1993)
Children: Alexander (6. June 1994)

Vanessa (7. July 2005)
Residence: Freigericht (Hessen)
Club: Eintracht Frankfurt


Irina Mikitenko was born on August 23, 1972 in Bakanas (Kazakhstan). The city is approximately 100 kilometres away from the former capital Alma-Ata in the southeast of the country close to the border of Kyrgyzstan. Her birthday happens to be just before a major sporting event in Germany: three days later the Olympic Games of Munich were opened. And the Olympics should play a big role in her life later on.  

Irina Mikitenko has two younger sisters, who did sport but not at an elite level. Her parents have no sports background. When she was only one year old, her family moved to Alma-Ata where Irina Mikitenko grew up. Her first sport was figure skating. Already at the age of five years she was on skates and later specialized in pair skating. „You start early in figure skating,“ says Irina Mikitenko. But at the age of twelve she was asked to go to a sports boarding school in a different part of Kazakhstan to begin a figure skating career. Neither she nor her parents wanted that. „It would have been too far away from home and at just twelve years it was too early,“ says Irina Mikitenko, who turned her focus to athletics then. “Athletics is the easiest sport. I was always good in running and was winning all the races in school.” 

Irina Mikitenko first was a middle distance runner and had success: For Kazakhstan she competed at the Central Asian Games in Taschkent (Uzbekistan) in the 1,500 m and won the gold medal in 4:25,4 minutes in September 1995. One year later she was competing at the Olympic Games for the first time: In Atlanta she missed the 5,000 m final finishing eleventh in her heat. 

Immediately after her return from Atlanta the family moved to Germany. The great grandparents of Irina Mikitenko had come from the northwest of Germany to Kazakhstan before World War One. Thus her parents still had a German passport. Mikitenko lives with her family in Freigericht (Hessen), close to the town of Gelnhausen. This place is known for a previous German athletics star: Harald Schmid. The German 400 m hurdles record holder had helped the Mikitenkos when they moved to Germany and arranged a job for her husband Alexander. Today Mikitenko and Schmid still have a close relationship.
Since her move to Germany her husband Alexander is also her coach. Both had met in Alma-Ata doing sports. Previously Alexander’s father Leonid had been Irina Mikitenko’s coach. She studied sport and is a sports teacher. In addition she has obtained a German license to work as a coach.

Since Irina Mikitenko still competed for Kasachstan in the 1996 Olympic Games, she wasn’t eligable to do so for Germany at the World Championships a year later. In 1998 Kazakhstan’s federation agreed to let her run for her new country and she was able to compete at the European Championships. Irina Mikitenko had received German citizenship because of her German family background already shortly after her move in 1996. In the 10,000 m she finished eighth in the European Championships in her debut in the German vest. Four years later she was ninth in this event at the Europeans. But it was mainly the 5,000 m, where Irina Mikitenko achieved top placings at global championships.


© photorun.net
At the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney Irina Mikitenko finished fifth, four years later she placed seventh in Athens. The multiple German long distance record holder furthermore finished fourth (1999) and fifth (2001) at World Championships in the 5,000 m. For years, Irina Mikitenko was the best German runner at global championships. Since 1999 she is the German 5,000 m record holder. In that year she improved this mark three times to 14:42.05 minutes. One year later Irina Mikitenko broke the German 3,000 m record with 8:30,39. She has a good personal best in the 10,000 m with 31:29.55 minutes (2001), but in the past years she didn’t get an ideal race to improve that time. On the road Irina Mikitenko is even much faster than on the track, which is unusual in long distance running: In September 2008 she ran the German 10 k record of 30:57 in Karlsruhe, Germany. Irina Mikitenko is sure that she never could show her full potential in the 5,000 m as well because she did not get the right race.

After giving birth to her second child in July 2005, Irina Mikitenko concentrated on road races and prepared for her marathon debut. She finally ran her debut successfully in Berlin in September 2007: Coming in second – only beaten by Ethiopia’s world class runner Gete Wami – she finished in a strong 2:24:51 hours. It was by far the fastest marathon debut of a German runner of all times. “Before that time, I wasn’t mentally prepared for a marathon“, answered Irina Mikitenko when asked why she didn’t run the marathon earlier. “But now the marathon is my event.”

In her second 42.195 km race, Irina Mikitenko decided to run the high-class London Marathon in April 2008: „When you always only run in Germany, you can’t improve and develop. Sure, it is nice to run in Germany: you can drive to the race, you will have your own pace maker, your coach can accompany you on a bike during the race.” All of that does not happen in London. And precisely for this reason Irina Mikitenko went there, although she doesn’t even speak English. In London she accomplished a sensation with her victory in 2:24:14 hours and stormed into marathon world-class.


© photorun.net
Irina Mikitenko is only the second German winner of the London Marathon after Katrin Dörre-Heinig, who won the race three times between 1992 and 1994. Furthermore it is the first German victory in a World Marathon Majors (WMM) race since 1996. Back then Uta Pippig won the 100th Boston Marathon. In London Irina Mikitenko also improved the German record to 2:24:35 hours, which had been held by Katrin Dörre-Heinig since 1999 in Hamburg. Uta Pippig ran the fastest German time ever in Boston in 1994, clocking 2:21:45. But since since Boston’s start and finish are too far away from each other (point-to-point course), these results are not valid for official records anymore.

Less than half a year later Irina Mikitenko became the fastest German marathon runner of all times, when she broke through the prestigious 2:20 barrier in Berlin. In ideal weather conditions and cheered on by around one million people she took the real,- Berlin-Marathon in 2:19:19. Irina Mikitenko became the fourth fastest marathon runner ever at this time. Only Paula Radcliffe (Great Britain), Catherine Ndereba (Kenya) and Mizuki Noguchi (Japan) had run faster before. Her 2:19:19 was the seventh fastest time ever and she became the ninth runner in athletics history to achieve a sub 2:20 result. Additionally she established a world age group record (W35).

In November 2008 Irina Mikitenko became the first non-African winner of a World Marathon Majors (WMM) Series. She took the second series 2007-2008 with her first three marathons of her career – a novelty in the sport. Together with Kenya’s Martin Lel Irina Mikitenko shared a jackpot of one million US-Dollar. It is the highest prize money ever earned by a German athlete.

In 2009 Irina Mikitenko continued her series of superb marathon races: She defended her titel at the Flora London Marathon in April, dominating the best quality city marathon of the year. Among others she left behind the Olympic Champion Constantina Dita (Romania) as well as World Champion Catherine Ndereba (Kenya) and clocked a world lead of 2:22:11. With a second place at the Bank of America Chicago-Marathon (2:26:31) in October 2009 Irina Mikitenko won the WMM Series for a second time in a row. Neither a woman nor a man had achieved this before.

Irina Mikitenko has a good relationship to another great marathon runner: world record holder Paula Radcliffe (2:15:25). She once even visited the Briton in her training camp in Albuquerque (USA) in 2001. „It was very interesting to see how Paula trains and we were doing a couple of training sessions together,” recalls Irina Mikitenko, who beat Paula Radcliffe during her first part of her career in some 3,000 and 5,000 m track races.

The two runners met in a road race for the first time at the BMW Berlin Marathon in 2011. Here Irina Mikitenko took second in 2:22:18, finishing one place ahead of Paula Radcliffe. It was the third fastest time in her career and the fastest for almost two and a half years for Irina Mikitenko. With this performance she is back among the world’s best marathon runners.

© race-news-service.com

Irina Mikitenko

IRINA MIKITENKO

Irina Mikitenko - (c) photorun.net
© photorun.net
Mädchenname: Irina Volynski
Geboren: 23. August 1972
Geburtsort: Bakanas (Kasachstan)
Nationalität: Deutsch
Größe: 1,58 m
Gewicht: 49 kg
Verheiratet mit: Alexander Mikitenko
  (seit August 1993)
Kinder: Alexander (geb.: 6. Juni 1994)
  Vanessa (geb.: 7.Juli 2005)
Wohnort: Freigericht (Hessen)
Verein: Eintracht Frankfurt


Irina Mikitenko wurde am 23. August 1972 in Bakanas (Kasachstan) geboren. Die Stadt befindet sich etwa 100 Kilometer entfernt von der ehemaligen Hauptstadt Alma-Ata im Südosten des Landes nahe der Grenze zu Kirgisistan. Ihr Geburtstag liegt damit unmittelbar vor einem sporthistorischen Großereignis in Deutschland, denn drei Tage später wurden in München die Olympischen Spiele eröffnet. Und Olympia sollte für sie später eine große Rolle spielen.

Irina Mikitenko hat zwei jüngere Schwestern, die aber nicht leistungssportlich aktiv sind. Bei ihren Eltern gibt es keinen besonderen sportlichen Hintergrund. Als sie erst ein Jahr alt war, zog die Familie nach Alma-Ata, wo Irina Mikitenko aufwuchs. Der Sport, den sie zuerst betrieb, war der Eiskunstlauf. Schon mit fünf Jahren stand sie auf Schlittschuhen, dann spezialisierte sie sich auf das Paarlaufen. „Im Eiskunstlauf beginnt man sehr früh“, sagt Irina Mikitenko. Doch als sie dann als Zwölfjährige in ein Sportinternat in einem anderen Teil von Kasachstan gehen sollte, um eine Eiskunstlauf-Karriere aufzubauen, wollten sie und ihre Eltern das nicht. „Es wäre zu weit weg gewesen von zu Hause, und mit zwölf Jahren war das zu früh“, erzählt Irina Mikitenko, die sich dann der Leichtathletik zuwandte. „Leichtathletik ist die einfachste Sportart, die es gibt. Ich war immer gut im Laufen und habe in der Schule stets gewonnen.“

Irina Mikitenko wurde zunächst Mittelstreckenläuferin und hatte auch hier Erfolg: Für Kasachstan startete sie im September 1995 bei den Zentralasiatischen Spielen in Taschkent (Usbekistan) über 1.500 m und gewann die Goldmedaille in 4:25,4 Minuten. Ein Jahr später lief sie zum ersten Mal bei den Olympischen Spielen: In Atlanta verpasste sie über 5.000 m als Elfte ihres Vorlaufes das Finale.

Unmittelbar nach der Rückkehr aus Atlanta zog die Familie nach Deutschland um. Die Urgroßeltern von Irina Mikitenko kamen einst, vor dem ersten Weltkrieg, aus dem Nordwesten Deutschlands nach Kasachstan. Dadurch hatten die Eltern der Läuferin noch einen deutschen Pass. Familie Mikitenko wohnt in Freigericht (Hessen), ganz in der Nähe von Gelnhausen. Dieser Ort ist bekannt für einen früheren deutschen Leichtathletik-Star: Harald Schmid. Der deutsche Rekordhalter über 400 m Hürden half den Mikitenkos als sie nach Deutschland kamen und vermittelte unter anderem Alexander Mikitenko eine Arbeit. Auch heute noch besteht eine enge Verbindung zwischen Mikitenko und Schmid.

Seit ihrem Wechsel nach Deutschland ist ihr Mann Alexander auch ihr Trainer. Die beiden hatten sich in Alma-Ata beim Sport kennen gelernt. Früher war Alexanders Vater Leonid der Coach von Irina Mikitenko, die Sport studierte und ausgebildete Sportlehrerin ist. Zudem hat sie eine deutsche B-Trainerlizenz.

Da Irina Mikitenko 1996 bei den Olympischen Spielen noch für Kasachstan am Start gewesen war, durfte sie ein Jahr später bei den Weltmeisterschaften noch nicht für Deutschland laufen. 1998 gab es dann eine Freigabe Kasachstans, so dass sie frei war für die Europameisterschaften. Die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft hatte Irina Mikitenko aufgrund des deutschen Familienhintergrundes bereits kurz nach dem Umzug 1996 erhalten. Über 10.000 m wurde sie dann bei ihrer Premiere im deutschen Trikot bei der EM Achte, vier Jahre später belegte sie bei diesen Titelkämpfen über die 25-Runden-Distanz Rang neun. Doch es waren in erster Linie die 5.000 m, über die Irina Mikitenko bei den großen internationalen Höhepunkten eine Reihe von Top-Platzierungen erreichte.


© photorun.net
Bei den Olympischen Spielen 2000 in Sydney rannte Irina Mikitenko auf Rang fünf, vier Jahre später in Athen belegte sie Platz sieben. Die mehrfache deutsche Langstrecken-Rekordlerin hat bei Weltmeisterschaften zudem die Plätze vier (1999) und fünf (2001) über 5.000 m belegt. Über Jahre hinweg war Irina Mikitenko bei den großen internationalen Höhepunkten immer wieder die beste deutsche Läuferin. Seit 1999 ist sie die deutsche Rekordhalterin über 5.000 m. Dreimal steigerte sie diese Marke in jenem Jahr auf schließlich 14:42,03 Minuten. Ein Jahr später brach Irina Mikitenko zudem den deutschen 3.000-m-Rekord mit 8:30,39. Ihre Bestzeit über die 10.000 m liegt bei erstklassigen 31:29.55 Minuten (2001), doch in der Folge fehlte ihr ein ideales Rennen, um diese Zeit weiter zu verbessern. Auf der Straße war Irina Mikitenko sogar deutlich schneller als auf der Bahn, was ungewöhnlich ist im Langstreckenlauf: Im September 2008 lief sie in Karlsruhe mit 30:57 Minuten deutschen Rekord. Auch über 5.000 m ist sich Irina Mikitenko sicher, dass sie nicht ihr volles Potenzial umsetzen konnte.

Nach der Geburt ihres zweiten Kindes im Juli 2005 konzentrierte sich Irina Mikitenko seit ihrem Comeback auf die Straßenrennen und bereitete langfristig ihr Marathondebüt vor. Dieses lief sie dann in Berlin im September 2007 mit Bravour: Als Zweite, nur geschlagen von Äthiopiens Weltklasseläuferin Gete Wami, kam sie ins Ziel in hochklassigen 2:24:51 Stunden. Es war das mit Abstand schnellste Marathondebüt einer deutschen Läuferin aller Zeiten. „Ich war vorher mental noch nicht bereit für den Marathon“, antwortete Irina Mikitenko auf die Frage, warum sie nicht schon eher einen Marathon-Versuch unternommen hat. „Jetzt aber ist der Marathon meine Disziplin.“

Bei ihrem zweiten Rennen über die 42,195 km entschied sich Irina Mikitenko für den hochkarätigen London-Marathon im April 2008: „Wenn man immer nur in Deutschland läuft, kann man sich nicht weiterentwickeln. Es ist natürlich angenehm, wenn man hier startet: da kannst du mit dem eigenen Auto zum Wettkampf fahren, du bekommst deine eigenen Tempomacher für das Rennen und dein Trainer darf dich während des Laufes auf dem Fahrrad begleiten.“ Das alles gibt es in London nicht. Und gerade deswegen fuhr Irina Mikitenko dort hin, obwohl sie nicht einmal Englisch spricht. In London schaffte sie mit ihrem Sieg in 2:24:14 Stunden eine Sensation und stürmte in die Marathon-Weltelite.


© photorun.net
Irina Mikitenko ist erst die zweite deutsche Siegerin des London-Marathons nach Katrin Dörre-Heinig, die das Rennen dreimal zwischen 1992 und 1994 gewonnen hatte. Es ist zudem der erste deutsche Sieg bei einem der World Marathon Majors (WMM)-Rennen seit 1996. Damals hatte Uta Pippig beim 100. Boston-Marathon triumphiert. Irina Mikitenko verbesserte in dem Lauf auch den deutschen Rekord von 2:24:35 Stunden, den Katrin Dörre-Heinig 1999 in Hamburg aufgestellt hatte. Die schnellste deutsche Zeit allerdings lief Uta Pippig 1994 in Boston mit 2:21:45. Da in Boston Start und Ziel weit auseinander liegen (Punkt-zu-Punkt-Strecke), werden diese Ergebnisse nach den aktuellen Regeln nicht mehr als offizielle Rekorde geführt.

Knapp ein halbes Jahr später wurde Irina Mikitenko in Berlin zur schnellsten deutschen Marathonläuferin aller Zeiten und zur ersten, die die 2:20-Barriere durchbrach. In einem Rennen bei idealen Witterungsbedingungen stürmte sie angefeuert von einem Millionenpublikum in 2:19:19 Stunden zum Sieg beim real,- Berlin-Marathon. Damit wurde Irina Mikitenko zur viertschnellsten Marathonläuferin aller Zeiten hinter Paula Radcliffe (Großbritannien), Catherine Ndereba (Kenia) und Mizuki Noguchi (Japan). Ihre 2:19:19 Stunden sind die siebtbeste Zeit aller Zeiten, und Irina Mikitenko war die neunte Läuferin, die in der Leichtathletik-Geschichte unter 2:20 Stunden blieb. Zudem stellte sie damit einen Altersklassen-Weltrekord (W 35) auf.

Im November 2008 stand Irina Mikitenko als erste nicht-afrikanische Siegerin einer World Marathon Majors (WMM)-Serie fest. Sie hatte die zweite Serie 2007-2008 mit den ersten drei Rennen ihrer Karriere gewonnen – auch das ist ein Novum. Gemeinsam mit dem Kenianer Martin Lel teilte sich Irina Mikitenko eine Prämie von einer Million US-Dollar. Es ist das höchste Preisgeld, das je ein deutscher Leichtathlet gewann.

2009 setzte Irina Mikitenko ihre Erfolgsserie im Marathon in beeindruckender Manier fort: Im April gelang ihr die Titelverteidigung beim Flora London-Marathon. Dabei dominierte sie das bestbesetzte City-Marathonrennen des Jahres, ließ sowohl die Olympiasiegerin Constantina Dita (Rumänien) als auch die Weltmeisterin Catherine Ndereba (Kenia) deutlich hinter sich und lief mit 2:22:11 Stunden eine Jahresweltbestzeit. Mit einem zweiten Platz beim Bank of America Chicago-Marathon (2:26:31) im Oktober 2009 gewann Irina Mikitenko zum zweiten Mal in Folge die WMM-Serie. Das war zuvor weder einer Frau noch einem Mann gelungen.

Zu einer anderen ganz großen Marathonläuferin hat Irina Mikitenko ein gutes Verhältnis: Weltrekordlerin Paula Radcliffe (2:15:25). Sie hatte die Engländerin einst 2001 sogar im Trainingslager in Albuquerque (USA) besucht. „Es war interessant zu sehen, wie Paula trainiert und wir haben ein paar Einheiten zusammen absolviert“, erzählt Irina Mikitenko, die Paula Radcliffe im ersten Abschnitt ihrer Karriere bei einigen Bahnrennen über 3.000 und 5.000 m sogar bezwingen konnte.

Beim BMW Berlin-Marathon 2011 kam es zum ersten Aufeinandertreffen zwischen den beiden in einem Straßenrennen. Dabei belegte Irina Mikitenko Platz zwei in 2:22:18 Stunden, während Paula Radcliffe Dritte wurde. Es war die drittbeste Zeit der Karriere und die schnellste seit fast zweieinhalb Jahren für Irina Mikitenko, die sich damit in der Weltklasse zurück meldetet.

© race-news-service.com